My quest for Conde Claros

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
Digory Piper

My quest for Conde Claros

Post by Digory Piper » Fri Dec 25, 2015 12:35 pm

I discovered Conde Claros in the first programme of Juliam Bream's 1985 television series "Guitarra - the Guitar in Spain", at a time when I'd stopped playing the guitar. The piece - 22 Diferencias sobre Conde Claros by Luis de Narváez, and Bream's heroic performance on his Romanillos vihuela, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xaZDknXPtCw, caught my imagination.

When I started playing again, some years later, one of the first books I bought was Pujol's anthology of vihuela music in the Schott edition, which contains Mudarra's "Ludovico" Fantasia, the Canción del Emperador and Guárdame las Vacas by Narváez - and a different set of variations on Conde Claros, that by Mudarra. I've learnt that - there is a most helpful performance by M. Delcamp on this forum - and have finally made a start on the Narváez work, in the Pujol edition, published by Editions Max Eschig.

(There is a free downloadable version on the internet here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n31CQJf1R8g, but it is in 6 sharps, and seems to want you to retune your bottom E string to F#).

The online performances of this I'm studying most closely are those by Hopkinson Smith on vihuela here, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IlNUpgptomQ and this by Alex Park on guitar https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4vt9K9ltwrQ - beautiful, elegant and precise with great tone control. There are vihuela performances a-plenty of both the Narváez and Mudarra works.