How to use Royal Conservatory of Music Guitar Repertoire Series

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
minorkey

How to use Royal Conservatory of Music Guitar Repertoire Series

Postby minorkey » Fri Feb 03, 2017 5:38 pm

I came across a 1980 set of the first four (Grade 1-4) RCM books published by Frederick Harris Music in a used bookstore and picked them up. I've just started learning again after nearly 10 years away. I'm started from the beginning to make sure I'm developing good technique and I've just started using them as a supplement to the Noad book. It's nice to have a piece to work on in addition to the exercises in the Noad book.

Is anyone out there also using the RCM books at the beginning levels (self-taught)? Could you tell me how you're using the "studies" at the back of the book? They don't seem to be keyed to the repertoire pieces in the front, and look to be just more repertoire pieces.

I'd love to hear how other people are using these at the lower levels. Thanks!

razz

Re: How to use Royal Conservatory of Music Guitar Repertoire Series

Postby razz » Sat Feb 04, 2017 4:09 pm

This series works better if you study with a teacher. The editors compiled the pieces so that each selection addresses a particular issue or a few related issues. Teachers are trained to spot the areas that students need to work. They know what pieces to assign that provide the additional work.

On your own, here is what I think that you should do.
-Pick two sections of the first book.
-Read through all of the pieces in the sections
-Determine which pieces will be the most difficult for you and focus on them. Be sure that you are capable of playing all of the pieces.
-Test yourself by playing those "focus on" pieces for an audience or by recording them.
-When you are happy with your performance of at least 2 pieces from each section, move on to 2 different sections
Work the entire book this way.