New guitar care question

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
Kspence

New guitar care question

Postby Kspence » Sun Mar 26, 2017 3:05 pm

Hello everyone, I recently just got a Cordoba C10 All solid with Spruce top and I was wondering about if I should get a humidifier for inside the case as well as a hygrometer. I live in California Bay Area and I'm not too knowledgeable about guitar care. I do always put the guitar back in the case after playing. I have been playing classical guitar for over 10 years but I have always played my dads 1979 Yamaha G-235. It wasn't until a few months ago i purchased a cordoba C7 cedar top, and than this week a C10 Spruce top.

Also, if anyone has advice on what's the best fabric to wipe a guitar down with safely, I'm in love with my C10.

One more question off topic, does the C10 rosette have a mother of pearl inlay in the design? It's a little hard for me to tell. When I researched online it says it does but I was wondering if anyone can confirm.

Laudiesdad69

Re: New guitar care question

Postby Laudiesdad69 » Sun Mar 26, 2017 5:31 pm

Yes I would get a humidifier. My sons C9 has two awful cracks from the guitar drying out. You can see a picture of in in the luthiers section under thread title "crack". I use gerlitz cloths for my CG. And I don't use wax on it. Just a little Gerlitz Smudge Off. you will want a case that seals, like the Humicase. Guit Cnter sells them for 129.99. It's the cheapest humidity case out there and comes with the humidifiers and solution.

joachim33

Postby joachim33 » Sun Mar 26, 2017 6:06 pm