UK Trinity Guitar Exams - self composed pieces - anyone done this?

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
martin_z

UK Trinity Guitar Exams - self composed pieces - anyone done this?

Post by martin_z » Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:35 pm

Hi all

I've been playing guitar for about 15 months, and classical guitar for a few months. I've decided I'm going to take the UK classical guitar exams (Trinity rather that ABRSM), starting at grade 3. I find it useful to have a target - keeps me going even when I'm not in the mood!

Now, something that Trinity allow you to do is to play a self-composed piece as one of your three pieces for the exam. I think this is quite an interesting idea, and something I'm considering. I wrote a tune many many MANY years ago, which I think will arrange quite well for guitar - it could be fun.

What I really wanted to know is - has anyone else done this? What are your views?

Thanks.

DevonBadger

Re: UK Trinity Guitar Exams - self composed pieces - anyone done this?

Post by DevonBadger » Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:52 pm

I haven't composed anything (random noodling doesn't count does it, even if it is very enjoyable) but I'm also planning to take the Trinity grade 3 exam this summer and just wanted to say good luck with it.

My teacher was a bit surprised when I said I would be interested in the exams - I'm about 40 years older than his usual entrants - but he has been completely supportive. Like you, I thought it would be good to have a target. It's also brought to my attention pieces I probably wouldn't have known about.

Just need to get a grip on my nerves and be able to play in front of other people... that's all! :)

DerekB

Post by DerekB » Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:54 pm