Slowing down

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
Pill

Slowing down

Post by Pill » Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:10 pm

Had my fourth lesson last night, I am new at this. I thought I was playing slowly but my teacher wanted it slower . He also emphasized connecting the notes. I need to work on this. I borrowed this saying " slow is smooth and smooth is fast ". I need to have patience and emphasize quality over quantity. Do others slow done as they are learning ?

KlaBueBaer

Re: Slowing down

Post by KlaBueBaer » Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:55 pm

Hi Pill,

Three rules for the beginner: 1) play slowly, 2) play slower and 3) play again slower. Fast it will be over time. But do not forget to respect the rhythm of a piece
---
Lakewood M-32G --- Aria MH 100 --- Hoyer Grand Concert --- Crafter Vintage ---
MuseScore --- GuitarPro --- SmartScore ---

Altophile

Post by Altophile » Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:57 pm

Goran Sollscher once said that the space between the notes is as important as the notes themselves, so each should be given their full time. Play slowly, and pause slowly to respect the spaces;-)

~Sean

Andrew Pohlman

Post by Andrew Pohlman » Fri Jun 16, 2017 5:24 pm

I need to learn by playing slowly for all music, not just classical guitar. Everybody agrees on that. You will find controversy in regard to when you should speed it up. What you will find is that the physics of a moving hand change from slow to fast, and it really is a different set of movements. But you need to burn in the hand positions and fingering slowly first.

I also find that all the stupid little adjustments made for accuracy when your hand movements are a tiny bit off can only be learned when playing slowly. They will translate easily to faster tempos. Plus hand strength in an actual hand contortion can only be developed by playing slowly, not breezing through those positions.

Anyway, I hope my perspective helps you.
2013 Rodriguez FF Sabicas blanco