Intermediate guitar player

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
pasigenyo

Intermediate guitar player

Post by pasigenyo » Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:53 pm

What does it mean to classify ones' guitar skill-level as intermediate? I see quite a few people use this to describe themselves and yet the difference in guitar abilities/knowledge between them and the masters is quite huge. Is there another level above intermediate before a master? Is it merely a tag to differentiate yourself from a beginner or is there really such a thing as an intermediate level? Some days I wake up and feel like I can play great, but many days, I feel like a total beginner. Thanks.

Adrian Allan

Re: Intermediate guitar player

Post by Adrian Allan » Fri Aug 04, 2017 9:09 pm

Totally correct; they are subjective terms and the difference from beginner through all the stages of intermediate to advanced is so vast, the term becomes meaningless.

Thus, people have tried to categorise playing levels by the exam system in the UK, or the various other systems such as those on this website.

I prefer the term advanced at the higher levels, and various diplomas in the UK are used to chart progress at an advanced level - the highest of which is supposed to mark somebody at professional performance level.

If somebody is a true master, then they will have performed many concerts and many concertos in a professional capacity. However, even those folks never really stop practising for the rest of their playing careers. You never really master an instrument (unless your initials are JW).
D'Ammassa Spruce/Spruce Double Top

Erik Zurcher

Post by Erik Zurcher » Fri Aug 04, 2017 9:30 pm

The term 'intermediate guitar player' is misleading. Every time I start on a new piece I consider myself a beginner.
Reedition Domingo Esteso by Conde Hermanos 2004; Kenny Hill, model Barcelona 2001