The wonders of NEW GUITAR DAY!

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
Nick Cutroneo

The wonders of NEW GUITAR DAY!

Post by Nick Cutroneo » Sun Aug 13, 2017 12:56 am

Hey everyone - it's been quite some time since I've posted on the forum (especially in the "Public Space" section...). However, I wanted to share with everyone my new guitar! Wednesday I traveled to Alan Chapman's place and picked up my new instrument. In doing so, I decided to Vlog about it, so here's a quick Vlog of the trip (I'm mainly playing, and a bit of talking...but mostly guitar playing).

Youtube

The mic on the iPhone isn't the best, and I'm investing in a better mic that attaches to the phone (for instagram videos/etc...). So the audio representation is much brighter than the actual guitar sound. Here's a video of me playing a short Sor study (Op. 35, No. 1) -- followed by a lesson. This video I used an actual separate mic (the mic I've been using for the past 2 years for all of my classical guitar videos). This recording better represents the sound of the guitar:

Youtube

The guitar is Indian Rosewood back and side with a Cedar Top. And sounds amazing with a ton of power behind it! I was teaching with it the night I got it and had to be conscious of not overpowering my student in the lesson.

EDIT - I always forget how to embed videos on this forum...finally figured it out though!
Last edited by Nick Cutroneo on Sun Aug 13, 2017 3:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nick Cutroneo - Classical Guitarist, performer/teacher/suzuki instructor

powderedtoastman

Re: The wonders of NEW GUITAR DAY!

Post by powderedtoastman » Sun Aug 13, 2017 3:10 am

Very nice, congrats!

Good choice on Sor Op. 35 No. 1, I think that's a great little piece to give beginner or intermediate players with lots of chances to do subtle things with the phrasing and interpretation. I usually like to pair it up with No. 2 as well.