Audition advice?

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
redmcq

Audition advice?

Post by redmcq » Tue Aug 29, 2017 5:31 pm

I am planning to audition later this year to all the UK Conservatoire's offering Bachelor of Music degree for classical guitar performance.

The pieces I am playing are:
Leo Brouwer - Elogio de la Danza
Bach - BWV 998 prelude
Lennox Berkeley - Sonatina

Was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on auditioning?

Thanks
Last edited by redmcq on Tue Aug 29, 2017 10:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Kevin Cowen

Re: Audition advise?

Post by Kevin Cowen » Tue Aug 29, 2017 6:53 pm

That's some advanced pieces you're playing.
Are you self taught?

Adrian Allan

Post by Adrian Allan » Tue Aug 29, 2017 6:58 pm

The same advice as any audtion - know the pieces backwards.
Video yourself playing them
Post them on here, maybe (for critical feedback and suggestions)

Be ready for all the questions they will ask you as well - eg. why do you want to do this course? Where do you think it will lead you? Who are your favourite composers and why, etc etc.

PS the noun is "advice", the verb is "advise", as in "I will advise you how to succeed".
D'Ammassa Spruce/Spruce Double Top

redmcq

Post by redmcq » Tue Aug 29, 2017 7:08 pm

Adrian Allan wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2017 6:58 pm

Be ready for all the questions they will ask you as well - eg. why do you want to do this course? Where do you think it will lead you? Who are your favourite composers and why, etc etc.

PS the noun is "advice", the verb is "advise", as in "I will advise you how to succeed".
Thank you very much!
Is there a section for posting your own videos of yourself playing for feedback?

redmcq

Post by redmcq » Tue Aug 29, 2017 7:08 pm

Kevin Cowen wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2017 6:53 pm
That's some advanced pieces you're playing.
Are you self taught?
Yeah they are indeed! No I have a teacher

Adrian Allan

Post by Adrian Allan » Tue Aug 29, 2017 7:45 pm

redmcq wrote: