Played first song with some expression

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
Albert

Played first song with some expression

Post by Albert » Sat Sep 09, 2017 11:53 pm

Well, it wasn't much (simple notes) and it wasn't very good, but I did play it with some expression. Not a lot of expression but I moved off of flatline :). This is something I've never done before and something I couldn't have done a month ago. I'm sure most of you here had this experience a long time ago, but it is pretty enjoyable. :chitarrista:

Do you remember the first time you played something with some emotion and maybe a little personal touch? What was that like for you?

lagartija

Re: Played first song with some expression

Post by lagartija » Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:06 am

Good for you, Albert! :applauso:
When the sun shines, bask.
__/^^^^^o>
Classical Guitar forever!

Albert

Post by Albert » Sun Sep 10, 2017 3:46 am

Not boasting btw. Nothing to boast about 😊. Just sharing the experience.

andreas777

Post by andreas777 » Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:24 am

There is always the question about how much 'expression' is allowed? I think it's like spices is a meal, a pinch of salt is good but too much salt makes your meal uneatable. But using 'expression' means focusing not only on the correctness of a piece but also on the sound quality of each note, and this is a good thing imho.
Happiness is when what you think what you say and what you do are in harmony.

PeteJ

Post by PeteJ » Sun Sep 10, 2017 11:55 am

I know what you mean. Suddenly the plodding notes have turned into music, and when that first starts happening it is exciting. Or so I'm told. :)

dory

Post by dory » Tue Sep 12, 2017 5:17 am

It is really really fun to suddenly realize you have passed a new milestone. Congratulations!
Dory

Albert

Post by Albert » Tue Sep 12, 2017 7:40 am

Also raises my admiration for those play really well. Lots of hard work and patience. Very commendable.

PeteJ