Need some etudes or studies to get better at guitar

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
jackhuy

Need some etudes or studies to get better at guitar

Post by jackhuy » Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:11 pm

Can anybody recommend me any good etudes or studies set? I'm a 1-year experience amateur guitarist and my best pieces are Maria Luisa by Sagreras and 1st movement from 1st sonatina Op.1 by Carcassi.

Bernhard Heimann

Re: Need some etudes or studies to get better at guitar

Post by Bernhard Heimann » Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:49 pm

If you play Maria Luisa by Sagreras, why don't you use the composer's "Lecciones para Guitarra", a set of six volumes
of good music to practice many technical abilities from beginner to concert artist? They are available here:
http://www.guitarraclasicadelcamp.com/p ... reras.html
Bernhard

powderedtoastman

Post by powderedtoastman » Wed Oct 04, 2017 5:47 pm

Sor Op. 60 and Op. 44 are very good. They start very simple, but even with the simplest ones there are many small details you can learn from practicing these pieces. They start to get pretty difficult in their latter halves!

dtoh

Post by dtoh » Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:26 pm

Would you prefer studies or etudes?

Stephen Kenyon
Teacher

Post by Stephen Kenyon » Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:48 pm

dtoh wrote:
Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:26 pm
He's winding you up - the two words mean exactly the same thing.

Seriously though, I'd suggest you address some of the help and advice that forum members have offered on other threads of yours.
Simon Ambridge Series 40 (2005)
Trevor Semple Series 88 (1992)
Louis Panormo (1838)
Alexander Batov Baroque Guitar (2013)

dtoh

Post by dtoh » Wed Oct 04, 2017 9:24 pm

Stephen Kenyon wrote:
Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:48 pm
dtoh wrote:
He's winding you up - the two words mean exactly the same thing.
Sorry pet peeve :D People who order shrimp scampi or pesto sauce also drive me nuts.

Laudiesdad69

Post by Laudiesdad69 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 1:29 am

Hey Jack,