RIP Phillip Houghton

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
pogmoor

RIP Phillip Houghton

Post by pogmoor » Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:43 pm

At the Oxford Guitar Society meeting today our patron, Ray Burley, told us that the Australian guitarist and composer Phillip Houghton had died about a week ago. An online search confirmed that had died on 30th Sept and turned up this tribute from the guitarist Daniel Nistico:
As a composer Phillip is self taught and his compositions reflect the influence of many styles: classical, jazz, rock, ambient and world music. His early influences include the music of Jimi Hendrix, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, King Crimson, Gryphon, Gong, Miles Davis, Satie, Debussy, Ravel, Riley, Crumb and Eno, while his work continues to reflect a strong interest in art, mythology and the environment.

Houghton's guitar music has been performed and recorded by leading musicians, including John Williams, Carlos Bonell, John Mills, Nicholas Goluses, Timothy Kain, Guitar Trek, Karin Schaupp, Slava Grigoryan, Gareth Koch, Tonie Field, Peter Constant and Marion Schaap (ZOO DUO). Some 20 of his guitar solos, published by Moonstone Music, are on the national syllabus (AMEB) and he is also represented in the new Benjamin Verdery Guitar Series for Frederick Harris Publishers.
Eric from GuitarLoot
Renaissance and Baroque freak; classical guitars by Paul Fischer (1995) and Lester Backshall (2008)
Yamaha SLG 130NW silent classical guitar (2014), Ramirez Guitarra del Tiempo (2017)

Paul Janssen

Re: RIP Phillip Houghton

Post by Paul Janssen » Mon Oct 09, 2017 7:39 am