Do guitarists know what "dynamics" are???

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
sal

Do guitarists know what "dynamics" are???

Post by sal » Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:36 am

I am a professional woodwind player, and have been studying guitar for two years. Was practicing this evening and it occurred to me that none of the music I am practicing has a dynamic marking. I went through a a filing cabinet filled with guitar music and found ONE BOOK that has dynamic markings. No "F (forte)", "P(piano)" "hairpins(crescendos, diminuendos). NOTHING! WHats up with that?
Whoa scratch that-just found a bunch of dynamic markings in Leo Bouers Etude sincillos.
Perhaps "older" guitar music does not use dynamic notation?

bear

Re: Do guitarists know what "dynamics" are???

Post by bear » Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:48 am

no, we're all a bunch of idiots.
BTW I have woodwind scores with no dynamics.
2013 Jeff Medlin '37 Hauser 640mm sp
2006 Michele Della Giustina Concert 10 string 650mm ce
2005 Jose Ramirez 4E 650mm ce
2005 Manuel Rodriguez Model C3F 650mm sp
2003 Manuel Rodriguez Model D 650mm ce

Philosopherguy

Post by Philosopherguy » Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:38 am

It is the challenge of playing the guitar: to see if you can always play at the exact same volume all the time. I still haven't mastered it. Another 30 or 40 years and I might succeed. Hahaha.

Does everyone need to be spoon-fed on what dynamics and tempo to play all the time?!?! Do we also need markings on what beat to accentuate in every song?

There is tons of music out there with dynamics markings if you look around. You might want to get modern editions that have been edited by someone for all the older music though.

Martin
2013 Ramirez 130 Anos - Spruce
2013 Ramirez 4NE - Cedar
1998 Dean Harrington - Spruce
1977 Kuniharu Nobe - Spruce
1971 Yamaha GC3 - Spruce

sal

Post by sal » Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:57 am

bear wrote:
Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:48 am

BTW I have woodwind scores with no dynamics.