Calluses and Trills

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
Phil McKelliget

Calluses and Trills

Post by Phil McKelliget » Mon Nov 27, 2017 12:23 pm

I have a problem when playing trills inasmuch as the calluses on the tips of my left hand fingers tend to catch the strings and generate a scratchy tone. I sometimes rub them down a bit with coarse emery paper but this is only partially effective. Does anybody have any hot tips? What do the professionals do?

eno

Re: Calluses and Trills

Post by eno » Mon Nov 27, 2017 3:50 pm

Yes, that's always a problem if you don't do anything about it. I file them thin and even (but not too thin so that they still protect the fingertips) with coarse diamond files. I'm not a professional but I learnt it from a professional player at a mastercalss. Some people use crèmes and I assume it helps but I don't bother, filing works just fine for me.
Paulino Bernabe 'India' 2001
Masaru Kohno No.6 1967
Rokutaro Nakade 1967, 1962

lucy

Post by lucy » Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:48 pm

Hi Phil

Nice to see you here! :)

I have the same problem. It's called practising too much!! I can't even do a pull-off slur sometimes.

My glass nail file simply didn't work, (probably because it had been left too long and the skin was "fragmenting"!)

I don't want to file my calluses too much, because I want to keep them thick, so I went out and bought a thing to take hard skin off feet. I didn't put the handle on, so I could put it in my little pencil case, that contains other bits and pieces.

It looks quite coarse and I haven't tried it yet, but I hope if I rub the offending callus very gently, it might do the trick. Might finish off with a nail file.

Lucy (aka Nina Rideout)
“Do what you can, with what you have, where you are”. Theodore Roosevelt

Laudiesdad69

Post by Laudiesdad69 » Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:17 am