beginners technique books

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
tonyb

beginners technique books

Post by tonyb » Tue Nov 28, 2017 12:13 am

Interested in your opinion of best beginner technique books. I'm currently using Aaron Shearer's " Learning the Classic Guitar", part one (Mel Bay), it has only line drawings but large clearly written text. A teaching of his is " Precede each movement you make on the guitar with a clear aim " To me it can mean focusing on a particular aspect of a movement (ie relax fingers) rather than an over-generalized aim, or wish such as 'play a good chord'. Another of his books has photos. Good book?

Laudiesdad69

Re: beginners technique books

Post by Laudiesdad69 » Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:39 am

Tony, I read your 3 posts and I have to say that the Aaron Shearer book is good. However, if you are a total beginner, I would suggest getting a qualified teacher. Also, if you do get a teacher, the silent guitar probably isn't going to work out so good for lessons. You will need a real guitar (they can be had for as little as $200 with a solid top.) Just my two cents. Good luck and see you around the forum.

tonyb

Post by tonyb » Tue Nov 28, 2017 3:34 am

I live in apt,i like it dead quiet and must provide that to neighbor also. I'm a senior citizen--if i learn ten chords before i die, Success! Thanks for suggestion.

Todd Tipton
Teacher

Post by Todd Tipton » Wed Dec 06, 2017 8:57 pm

For a rank beginner, I second the Shearer books. I also second the advise of a competent teacher (no easy task sometimes). However, if one simply doesn't have, can't get, etc. a teacher, I find Shearer's books to best give some of the advice needed (whether or not that was his intent).