Playing without finger nails - thumb issue

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
LucNeyens

Playing without finger nails - thumb issue

Post by LucNeyens » Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:25 pm

Greetings,

As mentioned in my profile, beginning of this year I started playing the classical guitar again after (far too) many years. Initially, my intention was to play with nails, believing this was the “standard” way and as recommended by my former teacher way back when. Yet, I was having trouble getting a proper tone with my thumb. It was as if there was always a second sound when my thumb nail hit the lower strings. This double sound did not occur with the i, m or a fingers. After some searching on the Internet, I came across the site of Rob MacKillop and, being particularly impressed with the beauty of the tones he is able to produce, decided to try and play without nails as well, hoping this would resolve the issue I was having.

Unfortunately, even though I cut my thumb nail as short as possible (some 2 mm backwards from the tip of my thumb), I still find it very hard **not** to touch the string with just the flesh and no nail, often resulting in a harsh tick sound, at least to my ears. Pushing the string somewhat downwards instead of plucking it horizontally seems to help, but not always. I have watched Rob MacKillop’s YouTube videos several times but am still looking for a position/posture where only the flesh touches the strings.

Any recommendation – other videos on YouTube or specific exercises – would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Last edited by LucNeyens on Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Luc

Rasputin

Re: Playing without finger nails

Post by Rasputin » Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:03 pm

Sorry if this is a silly question but are you 100% sure that it is the nail making contact? Sometimes the flesh can make a pretty ugly noise too, and I don't see how it can be the nail if it is that short.