Help with notation

Theory and practice of composition and arranging for classical guitar, discussion of works in progress, etc.
Forum rules
III Our MP3, WMV, MOV, OGG, AVI, Authors' rights

Composers' Workshop
Theory and practice of composition and arranging for classical guitar, discussion of works in progress, etc.

Once you have subscribed to the 002 group, you can attach the following types of files to your messages:
Audio : .mp3 .ogg .wav .flac
Video : .avi .flv .mov .wmv
Score : .pdf .jpg .gif .png
Finale: .mus
llawrence

Help with notation

Postby llawrence » Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:07 pm

Hello all! I'm a composer and amateur guitarist. I wonder if some of you kind folks might help me out with some of the fingering notation on my fretboard scores.

My scores tend to be very minimal in their instructions - it's my preference to leave as much as possible in the hands of performers - and I had wanted to leave the fingering out entirely, as I have done in previous works for fretboard. But some of the music in Opus 3 just demands some kind of fingering notation. The Bossa of the suite, in particular, might be baffling to some players without a little help. (I try to make my music accessible to competent amateur players, but this movement got away from me. It's already been much reduced from the original version to make it more playable.)

A professional guitarist and lutenist friend recommended that I simply put in hand positions and leave it pretty much at that, which appeals to my desire for a minimally-notated score. However, I would like to find out what you all think of it: is it enough; and, is it beneficial to include these indications even on the easier movements, as I've done here for consistency?

Attached is one of the scores in its current state. I would like to publish Opus 3 very soon, but it can still be edited, and I would be grateful for any feedback.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.