Songwriting

Theory and practice of composition and arranging for classical guitar, discussion of works in progress, etc.
Forum rules
III Our MP3, WMV, MOV, OGG, AVI, Authors' rights

Composers' Workshop
Theory and practice of composition and arranging for classical guitar, discussion of works in progress, etc.

Once you have subscribed to the 002 group, you can attach the following types of files to your messages:
Audio : .mp3 .ogg .wav .flac
Video : .avi .flv .mov .wmv
Score : .pdf .jpg .gif .png
Finale: .mus
Doug Crosswell

Songwriting

Post by Doug Crosswell » Thu Dec 13, 2012 4:38 pm

Hello again . I like to song write but I admit I'm still a novice. most of my songwriting I have done in the past was on steel string acoustic. I like a lot of the traditional hyms we sing in my church and I also like creating my own Christian music.

I was wondering though ,is it possible for me to write songs with lyrics on CG. I know that CG isn't really made for strumming which I'm okay with,
but a lot of my music idea are a bit of upbeat , but of course I like to do slow songs as well. does most music on CG consist of pieces and instrumental ?

I really want to go all out on learning CG and try out composing , songwriting etc etc , but I'm worried I'll be limited.

Anthony Campanella

Re: Songwriting

Post by Anthony Campanella » Thu Dec 13, 2012 5:07 pm

Good luck Merwood, we could use more songs for cg
You know the melody is usually the most important and most difficult element to accomplish
For accompaniment you could try arpeggios, base/chord - base/chord, etc

Gruupi

Post by Gruupi » Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:14 pm

We tend to focus on instrumental guitar works on this forum, that is what most us want to do. But you can absolutely write "songs" for CG and voice or other combinations of instruments. I have heard some really good recitals for CG and voice. Maybe I am biased but a classical guitar player along with a female singer has a great appeal to me.