Any Tips for Composing Accompaniment?

Theory and practice of composition and arranging for classical guitar, discussion of works in progress, etc.
Forum rules
III Our MP3, WMV, MOV, OGG, AVI, Authors' rights

Composers' Workshop
Theory and practice of composition and arranging for classical guitar, discussion of works in progress, etc.

Once you have subscribed to the 002 group, you can attach the following types of files to your messages:
Audio : .mp3 .ogg .wav .flac
Video : .avi .flv .mov .wmv
Score : .pdf .jpg .gif .png
Finale: .mus
paulbhorn3

Any Tips for Composing Accompaniment?

Postby paulbhorn3 » Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:35 pm

I'm an intermediate to advance guitarist (with a bit to learn still) and I write some of my own pieces. Melody is easy for me and I can usually expand a melody and add chord etc. easily. However, most of my piece usually turn out rather simplistic and arpeggied (forgive spelling please). Does anyone have tips on how to write a good accompaniment? bass lines? 3rd and 4th voices?

Tarbaby (1953 - 2016)

Re: Any Tips for Composing Accompaniment?

Postby Tarbaby (1953 - 2016) » Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:46 pm

Hi Paul,

You could start by exploring the Bach part writing rules: http://www.mymusictheory.com/grade6/les ... rmony.html

In my 1st year theory class at the Conservatory, we started by analyzing the Chorales. Then, we were told to write a simple melody and fill in the harmonies according to those rules. Funny thing is, it never sounded like Bach!

Of course, nowadays, those rules can and should be broken. :wink:

Good luck!

Alan

michael karmon

Postby michael karmon » Sat Jul 20, 2013 4:23 pm

Once you have an outline of the melody, I would definitely focus on the bass line. It can be as interesting as the top line, and a little rhythmic activity in the bass really goes a long way. Also this post might give you some ideas about how to move forward: http://www.classicalguitarcanada.ca/201 ... el-karmon/.

Good luck! :)

Alan Green