Classical Guitar Selection

mrm2007

Classical Guitar Selection

Postby mrm2007 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 6:56 am

Hello ,

I'm looking for a classical guitar to buy it as a gift (not for myself) . As i'm not an expert in any area of it and after
some google search i found your forums.

I previously searched our local market and with my limited budget , these models are my options (sorted by price from low to high) :

1) Stagg C442
2) Stagg C542
3) Yamaha C40 , C40M , C45
4) Stagg C546
5) Yamaha C70

(There are also some other brands, but it seems that Yamaha and Stagg are better).

I prefer to buy it locally because of 1) shipping costs & import tax 2) if she didn't like it or .. we can go and change it .

I asked around (locally) and it seems that Yamaha C40 (specially C40M) is very popular as a starter instruments, so currently i'm biased toward C40M.

So, what do you think?

George Crocket

Re: Classical Guitar Selection

Postby George Crocket » Mon Feb 20, 2017 8:29 am

Hi mrm2007. Welcome to the forum. Your post has been moved to our section devoted to advice about buying and selling guitars. I am sure you will get some hints. Meantime, why don't you introduce yourself here and have a look around. There are lots of nce CG recordings here. :casque:
George
2010 Stephen Eden spruce/cocobolo classical guitar
2012 Stephen Eden cedar/IRW classical guitar

guitarseller345645

Postby guitarseller345645 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 8:33 am

1st forum rule: buy used! :)

But that is out, since it is a gift...what are the other brands?

The Yamaha should be better but you may want to pay a little more (or consider other brands) in order to get a solid top.
Last edited by guitarseller345645 on Mon Feb 20, 2017 9:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Höfner HLE-SAZ
Kremona Fiesta FC

dilettante1000

Postby dilettante1000 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 3:58 pm

Buy a Yamaha, if these are your only choices. They make good value budget guitar which work.

andreas777

Postby andreas777 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 6:51 pm