Advice on guitar size

CliffP

Advice on guitar size

Post by CliffP » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:14 am

I'm just beginning to play again after a long time away, actually starting over again, and bought a Sigma Martin CS-3 and I find that it's very hard for these 70 year old fingers to span 4 frets and so I'm wondering it a smaller guitar might be more comfortable. I've read some of the posts about guitar scale and measured mine to be 650. Looking at the posts, I've measured the span from pinkie to index fingertips when held in a comfortable position as if I were on the neck and the dimension is 110mm. Stretched the dimension is 160mm. Looking at information on the posts it's suggested that a 650 is the proper scale but the 650 I have is very difficult to reach 4 frets so I think a smaller scale would be more comfortable. Thus I've got a couple of questions.

First, what scale works best with the 110mm dimension? Second, can I find a guitar of such a scale for around $300? Since I'm just getting started I don't want to go nuts on the purchase and yes, I know that the dollars can make a difference. I'm a fly fisher and have gone from $50 rods to $900 rods and now make bamboo rods which can be much more. In rods the dollars can matter and I assume that the same is true in guitars.

Thanks for your advice.

Pat Dodson

Re: Advice on guitar size

Post by Pat Dodson » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:46 am

If you put a capo at the first fret then the scale length of your Sigma will become 613mm which might give you some feel for whether you will benefit. There are drawbacks to using this as a regular solution but it might work for you.

For $300 dollars you should be able to find a Córdoba Dolce or Alhambra Senorita 1c which have solid tops, 630/635 ish scales and slightly narrower nuts