Buying a Classical Guitar

Wonko the Sane

Buying a Classical Guitar

Post by Wonko the Sane » Sat Feb 25, 2017 5:52 am

Good day all,

I am a decent guitar player, but by no means a professional. I have played on and off as a hobby for the last 25 years. I learned to play guitar when I was in my early twenties on an old beat up classical guitar that I purchased at pawn shop for $50 dollars. Since then, I have always loved picking up other musicians classical guitars, but I have not owned on in over 20 years. I would like to come back to the fold.

What makes and models of classical guitar might some of you folks recommend I purchase. Again, I am no professional but I would like a quality instrument, as I have grown accustomed to playing on high end Larrivee's, Martin's, and Taylor's. Can I get a good Classical guitar for under a thousand dollars?

Thanks in advance,

Wonko.

George Crocket

Re: Buying a Classical Guitar

Post by George Crocket » Sat Feb 25, 2017 8:22 am

Hello again, Wonko. Since this part of the forum is dedicated to answering questions like yours, your post has been moved.
George
2010 Stephen Eden spruce/cocobolo classical guitar
2012 Stephen Eden cedar/IRW classical guitar

guitarseller345645

Post by guitarseller345645 » Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:11 am

Hi Wonko the Sane

Cool nick!

I think many will agree that a Cordoba C9/10 will be great.
Höfner HLE-SAZ
Kremona Fiesta FC

Joe de V

Post by Joe de V » Sat Feb 25, 2017 5:47 pm

The Manuel Rodriguez CG line have consistently produced a very good - non-luthier made instruments. There are other makers that also will meet your price range but in my experience with their instruments they fall a bit short in their quality-control phase. Not too identical models sound alike. You will need to try more than one of the same model to make a choice.

Laudiesdad69

Post by Laudiesdad69 » Tue Feb 28, 2017 9:14 am