Upgrading from entry level guitar, looking for recommendations.

prewarmartin

Upgrading from entry level guitar, looking for recommendations.

Postby prewarmartin » Sat Mar 04, 2017 9:51 pm

Hi everyone,

I've been playing guitar for the last ten years or so but have only recently started playing classical. I purchased a Yamaha C40 to start with & really fell in love with Classical guitar. Now I'm wanting to upgrade to something nicer but I'm a bit lost on what I should look for.

My budget is $500 - $2000

I'd like it to have a matte/satin neck. I hate playing glossy necks, they feel too sticky and it makes it difficult to play.

I was looking at the Ramirez 130 anos a few months ago and it looked pretty nice. However, I think the neck was glossy and I can't seem to find them for sale anymore.

I'd prefer a used Luthier built guitar over a factory guitar but am open to both.

Last, I like playing slow/sad pieces a lot. I want something that is warm & mellow sounding that isn't too bright.

Hoping to get some suggestions as to what I should get, thanks!

mmapag

Re: Upgrading from entry level guitar, looking for recommendations.

Postby mmapag » Sun Mar 05, 2017 12:07 am

Look at some of the used items here. There are some good ones within your budget. People can get more specific if you share where you are located. As far as the matte neck goes, any neck can become matte with a little 0000 steel wool.
'13 Esteve 7 SM
'75 Takamine 132 S
'99 G.V. Rubio Estudio, Cedar, Palo Escrito

bear

Postby bear » Sun Mar 05, 2017 12:10 am

steel wool will solve the neck issue
2013 Jeff Medlin '37 Hauser 640mm sp
2006 Michele Della Guistina Concert 10 string 650mm ce
2005 Jose Ramirez 4E 650mm ce
2005 Manuel Rodriguez Model C3F 650mm sp
2003 Manuel Rodriguez Model D 650mm ce

prewarmartin

Postby prewarmartin » Sun Mar 05, 2017 12:23 am