Cordoba C5 or Almansa recommendation.

tataocb

Cordoba C5 or Almansa recommendation.

Post by tataocb » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:02 pm

Hello,

I am looking for advice on buying a classical guitar. I have been playing the guitar as a hobby for over 10 years now. It is mostly latin american music from the trova genre. I have mostly owned Yamaha C40 guitars and Marshal guitar in the past, so nothing really special. I recently bought a CG102 with a Spruce top, but returned it as the fret board felt too narrow for my hand/fingers. So I returned that guitar and tried a C5 with a Cedar top at a local guitar center. I really liked the way it sounded as compared to my previous guitars.

I also remember playing an Alhambra once in the past and was really impressed by the sound. I do not know which model it was, but I thought it was a really good guitar. I have found a guy that sells an Almansa 402 (which I understand is very similar to the Alhambra brand) in a similar price range to a new Cordoba C5. It would probably be an extra US $50-$70. There is no way for me to play and try the Alsambra guitar until I buy it as none of the local stores carry the Almansa or Alhambra brand. I really like the sound and finish of the C5. The finish on the 402 seems a bit more "natural". Even though I haven't tried the 402, I remember the good sound from the Alhambra and expect a similar sound from Alsambra.

So I have a couple of questions.

1. What is the "equivalent" Alhambra model to the Alsambra 402? I know the Alhambra 1OP is similar to the Alsambra 400 Nature, but have no idea about the 402.
2. Which one would you recommend? Should I take the risk and buy the Alsambra without trying it first? Or go with the Cordoba C5, which I have tried, heard, and like the sound? The Cordoba C5 would not be the one I tried as I would order a new one online. So in a sense, I will not have played the actual guitar until I get it delivered.

Thanks,

George Crocket