Alvarez vs. Pavan, or something else?

superheavydeathmetal

Alvarez vs. Pavan, or something else?

Post by superheavydeathmetal » Thu Apr 13, 2017 3:33 pm

Hey, guys. I am looking to purchase my first nylon-stringed guitar. I have my options narrowed down to 3:

used Alvarez Yairi CY-140 - @$900 (Cedar Top)
new Pavan TP-20 - $1350
new Pavan TP-30 - $1770

Babbling: While I am new to nylon, I have been playing guitar for about 15 years, so I willing to spend some coin to get a nice instrument because I know it isn't something I am going to get bored with and throw in a closet. Being a lefty, I do not have the problem of an overwhelming selection to choose from, but I am also not afforded the luxury of being able to try before I buy. I have about decided on the Alvarez as I think it is the best value. I have found other new guitars, such as Godin, Navarro, Taylor, but I get the feeling the Pavan is a better value when buying new. There is also the composite route, but the only lefty nylon I can find is the Rainsong El Capitan, but that will run me over $3000, and it seems unnecessary to spend that much.

Like I said, I have about decided on the Alvarez (even though I suspect I would rather have a Spruce top), but if anyone has any thoughts or other ideas, I'd love to hear them!

Thanks!
There are never enough hours in the day to play.

Ramon Amira
Teacher

Re: Alvarez vs. Pavan, or something else?

Post by Ramon Amira » Thu Apr 13, 2017 3:50 pm

Definitely the Alvarez Yairi CY140. One of the best looking and best sounding factory guitars I have ever played. The price is right if it's not too old. You didn't mention the year. But no matter, whatever year it's better than the Pavans.

Ramon
Classical and Flamenco guitar lessons via Skype worldwide - Classical and Flamenco guitars from Spain

superheavydeathmetal

Post by superheavydeathmetal » Thu Apr 13, 2017 4:00 pm