Need Advice - Want to buy a new Classical Guitar

Mike.25

Need Advice - Want to buy a new Classical Guitar

Post by Mike.25 » Tue Jun 06, 2017 9:12 am

Hello fellow musicians.

As I already wrote in my introductory post, I'm relatively new to the world of classical guitars. I just started playing a few month ago. I bought a cheap, used classical guitar off a friend. It hasn't even a name or a brand written on it.

The thing is, the more I play, the more I'm actually struggling with this instrument. The neck is really wide and seams to be uncomfortable. Another thing is, if I play some higher tones, they seam to be a bit off.

Anyway, I was thinking about getting myself a new instrument. So I did some research and had a look at a few for sales websites and I guess I found some decent classical guitars at a very good price on http://www.for-sale.co.uk/classic-guitars.

But I don't know so much about it, I thought about asking for some more advice here. So far I nailed it down to the following brands: Yamaha, Stagg and Admira. As for the Yamaha, I found the C40BPAC and C80 quite interesting. Same goes for the Stagg Silvera Series. Finally I stumbled across the Admira Diana ADM300 and 1957N.

So what do you guys think about my picks? Are they suitable for a player like me? They are all within the same price range. This this is obviously how much I'd like to spend.

Are there some more brands an models anyone can recommend? Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Mike.
Last edited by Mike.25 on Fri Jun 09, 2017 5:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Stephen Kenyon
Teacher

Re: Need Advice - Want to buy a new Classical Guitar

Post by Stephen Kenyon » Tue Jun 06, 2017 9:32 am

First off one might suggest you get your present instrument looked at by somebody with more experience, because there may be something simple can be done to it to fix things, or indeed, what you perceive as a wide neck may in fact be perfectly normal ...