Buying Advice - What to Look For

DaveLeeNC

Buying Advice - What to Look For

Post by DaveLeeNC » Tue Jul 04, 2017 10:20 pm

For Context ... I am a low skilled guitarist and have only played classical guitar for 3 years (this past year or so and 2 years back in the 80's). I am in my late 60's. And equally important I have only played two different classical guitars in my life. One was a fairly low end Garcia (garage sale find) and a Spanish luthier guitar from a lesser known luthier (Jesus Marzal - 1984 model).

First of all I am in no way dissatisfied with my Marzal. When I was playing my Garcia I thought it sounded pretty good. But the Marzal was a night and day difference (it was a mail order purchase from the now closed Guitar Shoppe in DC back in the 80's). So I wonder if I might have the same reaction to a higher end guitar compared to my transition from the Garcia to the Marzal.

I have tentatively planned a day trip to Dream Guitars in Asheville, NC as they have a number of pretty good to "out of reach" guitars. And I would be willing to add somewhere in the very low four figures (assuming a trade-in or sale of my Marzal is added to the pot) IF I liked it well enough (thinking back to my Garcia/Marzal experience). And I would assume that I know how to judge that.

But I do have a question. Given my lack of experience here, what things should I look for in evaluating a (probably used) guitar. In particular I wonder about things that I won't notice now but might notice in a year or two after my "ear develops" and my experience grows. Or anything else that might be helpful to me. E.G., should I use a guitar tuner to evaluate intonation? Stuff like that.

Thanks for the help.

dave
1984 Jesus Marzal cedar CG
1971 Sherry-Brener (Cedar) Garcia No. 1 CG
1975 Gibson ES-175D Achtop Electric
2016 Eastman AR905CE-BD Carved Archtop Electric

wchymeus

Re: Buying Advice - What to Look For

Post by wchymeus » Tue Jul 04, 2017 10:32 pm