Advice on new mid-range classical guitar

emma_guitar

Advice on new mid-range classical guitar

Post by emma_guitar » Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:02 pm

Dear all,

I have read many threads on this forum concerning buying new instrument but can't quite find anything answering my specific question, so here goes:

I have been playing classical guitar for just over 10 years. I did not study guitar at college-level and unfortuately don't think I ever will. However, I spend a great deal of my free time playing and expect to do so for many years to come. In case it's relevant, I believe I play approximately at college entry level.

My first guitar was a very basic student model (Yamaha C40). I currently own a Vicente Sanchis 38, which I bought new about 8 years ago for 600 euros. It has a solid spruce top, rosewood back and sides and ebony fingerboard. It has beautiful clear trebles which work especially well for Renaissance / Baroque pieces. I believe I got excellent value for my money.
However, in the past years, I have noticed that with some pieces, a certain warmth is missing in the sound of my guitar. Although this is probably in part due to my own tone production, I recently played my teacher's guitar (obviously a concert model) and had no problem getting a warm, round tone.

Since then, I have been considering buying myself an upgrade. My budget would be about 1200 euros. I wonder, how much improvement in guitar can I expect from this budget? Or would you advise me to save up a little longer and buy a more expensive instrument? Do you have any specific recommendations? I'm planning to travel to a classical guitar shop soon to try out a few.

Thanks!

Laudiesdad69

Re: Advice on new mid-range classical guitar

Post by Laudiesdad69 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:07 pm