Oh NO! Now my '68 Nogami...Help!

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments
KenO
Amateur luthier

Oh NO! Now my '68 Nogami...Help!

Post by KenO » Sat Mar 18, 2017 4:01 am

Following my '67 Hashimoto No. 232 bridge and back brace failure (brace repaired and currently waiting for a completely new table), my '68 Saburo Nogami Concert Tenor has developed a small fracture in the ebony fret board! Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr8! Sharing some pics in hopes of getting some advice...
The red arrows indicate the hair-line fracture.
Unfortunately, the fracture seems to have penetrated the beautiful solid spruce table (blue arrow below)...
My guitars are kept in a relatively stable humid controlled environment between 40% to 60%. This is the first time, I've experienced this kind of structural compromise (in a row!). Fortunately, the sound of the guitar has not been affected.

While I'm a luthier "wanna be", I'm a hack in reality; and this is nothing like working on a "Hashimoto No. 232"! She is a rare beauty with a magnificent voice and a family heirloom. Should I just leave it the way it is for now? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
'06 Asturias Prelude S; '02 Yamaha CG101; '68 S. Nogami Concert Tenor; '67 Hashimoto No. 232

Laudiesdad69

Re: Oh NO! Now my '68 Nogami...Help!

Post by Laudiesdad69 » Sat Mar 18, 2017 4:29 am

As far as the crack in the fingerboard, I have a nasty one on my C1 Córdoba. If it were me, on a nice guitar such as yours, I would have a luthier repair it. What I plan to do with the Córdoba is grind up some rosewood dust, mix it with epoxy, and fill the crack. Then I will just sand everything flush and gorgamyte the frets and board after the repair is done. I don't know what to tell you about the top of the sound board, other than luthier.

James Tranlong

Post by James Tranlong » Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:37 am