Newbie luthier questions - flat vs domed tops

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments
mChavez

Newbie luthier questions - flat vs domed tops

Post by mChavez » Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:14 pm

Hello all,

I am an absolute beginner luthier looking for some advice about building guitars and this seems to be just the right forum for it.

I have recently completed my first guitar build (a wee steel string parlour) and I am looking to attempt a couple more guitars next year while I am learning the craft. After reviewing my first build, I have noted that almost all of the problems that I have encountered were caused by doming the soundboard and the back, and I am tempted to build perfectly flat tops & backs for the next few guitars, at least until my skills get a bit better (before the first guitar I never even held a chisel in my hands) and until I build up more tools, jigs and equipment.

Does anybody on this forum build their tops flat, and if so, what is your experience with them? How do they stand up to humidity changes? Did you ever have soundboards cracking?

From what I have read online, the flat top's only potential issue might be cracking in extreme humidity changes. Sound wise, domed tops should have more highs (as they are more rigid), but I guess that the extra bass of a flat top will not do the parlours any damage.
While the humidity at home stays around 40-45% in winter and 55-60% in summer, a couple of my future builds are likely to end up with friends in continental European climate where humidity changes are more dramatic.

Another question that I would like to hear some opinions on is how much tension can be loaded onto a classical bridge, as opposed to the through-the-soundboard construction. I like the idea of fan bracing, but I think it will clash with a pin bridge as the bracing will have to be based round the string holes.

Thank you for your help.

Bruno Piancatelli
Amateur luthier