French Polishing Newbie Mistake: Is there hope?

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments
Pinewhisp

French Polishing Newbie Mistake: Is there hope?

Post by Pinewhisp » Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:57 am

Hello all,

I am a hobbyist guitar builder who's been cruising along having fun on a low pressure, build-it-in-my-spare time classic guitar for the last three years. You folks have offered great advice in the past regarding hide gluing a fingerboard (that went very well, thanks to you guys). I've got a Swiss spruce top and eastern walnut back and sides, and although I've never done it before, I bone-headedly decided to finish the guitar by the more challenging French Polishing method to minimize tonal impact by the finish.
Well, apparently I have been having too much fun: I've committed what I suspect is a cardinal French Polishing sin on my beautiful walnut back and sides: After two initial sealer shellac coats, during pumice filling I apparently applied mineral oil prematurely—before a sufficient shellac sealer layer was adequately deposited on all walnut surfaces. The end result is some large dull-sheen splotches that refuse to take a shine on subsequent shellac body coats compared to the adequately sealed high-sheen surrounding areas (evaluated after oil-sanding with 600 grit and mineral oil).
I've subsequently rubbed on four body coats (just shellac and oil) and one more pumice-filler coat, but none of these has been capable of absorbing into the oil-contaminated splotches.
I've decide to place my tail between my legs, admit abject failure, remove the finish on the walnut, hopefully clean the oil from the contaminated walnut with a solvent like Naptha, and French Polish the walnut all over again—from scratch.
I'm wondering whether any of you expert-type luthiers can offer any advice to a newbie on the best way to strip off a failed French Polish finish. Paint remover? Sanding alone? Denatured alcohol?
Thanks in advance for any advice.