Same bracing same sound?

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments
GuitarB

Same bracing same sound?

Post by GuitarB » Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:22 pm

Hi community, i am a beginner guitar player. I am wondering if you make a copy of famous model(friederich, fleta, hauser...) using the same types of wood, same bracing based on plan purchase from lmii, will you get the same sound or really really close to the original? Thanks!
:D

rinneby

Re: Same bracing same sound?

Post by rinneby » Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:37 pm

GuitarB wrote:
Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:22 pm
Hi community, i am a beginner guitar player. I am wondering if you make a copy of famous model(friederich, fleta, hauser...) using the same types of wood, same bracing based on plan purchase from lmii, will you get the same sound or really really close to the original? Thanks!
Close maybe if you are a skilled luthier, but probably no cigar :)
1965 - Masaru Kono No.5
1975 - Atushi Nakamura No.15
1977 - Kuniharu Nobe No.15
1996 - Masaru Kohno Maestro

Feel free to ask me anything about Japanese classical guitars.

Alan Carruth
Luthier

Post by Alan Carruth » Mon Sep 04, 2017 6:05 pm

It's almost certain to sound like a guitar: how close are you trying to get?

The overall size and shape of the guitar do have a bearing on how it sounds: larger boxes tend to have a more 'bass balanced' tone, all else equal, for example. Slight differences in outline within a given size envelope are unlikely to have a major effect. On the other hand, when you're dealing with a design like the guitar, that is both highly evolved and strongly tradition bound, those small differences can loom large.