Do you ever feel like quitting?

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments
mlau

Do you ever feel like quitting?

Post by mlau » Fri Oct 27, 2017 8:33 pm

Last Saturday, I picked up a guitar from Randy Angella.
It was a Spruce/Braz RW 7 fan guitar that was commissioned for my dad's retirement present two years ago.

The guitar is so jaw droppingly good that it makes me feel like quitting guitar building--or at least classical guitars.
It would take me at least a few decades of full time guitar building to come close to that guitar.
In the meantime, I think that I'd be better off focusing on dental implants, root canals and braces.
In my lifetime, I'll probably never get as good as him...especially if I want to have time for family, friends, community.

I've talked with other guys (I'm just an amateur) who talk about being discouraged when they don't have commissions or money coming in.

Do you guys ever feel discouraged?
Also, how do you get through that?
Any particular challenges?

Doug Ingram
Amateur luthier

Re: Do you ever feel like quitting?

Post by Doug Ingram » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:44 pm

No.

I build guitars because I enjoy the challenge, the product, and the process.

I don't build them because I have any expectation of building enough guitars in my lifetime, with an amateur's opportunity for productivity, to become as accomplished as a full time professional.

At every level of your development you will encounter new challenges, embrace each one. Enjoy each stage for what it is. Be in the moment.

it's as simple as that.

printer2

Post by printer2 » Sat Oct 28, 2017 3:00 am

Looks are only skin deep. To me it is secondary to the sound and playability. If I can get those right the looks are a bonus.
Fred

montana

Post by montana » Sat Oct 28, 2017 5:17 am

mlau wrote:
Fri Oct 27, 2017 8:33 pm
Last Saturday, I picked up a guitar from Randy Angella.