question for luthiers here

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments
Jose Marques
Luthier

question for luthiers here

Post by Jose Marques » Sat Nov 11, 2017 3:59 pm

I have been in festivals and i have offered 2 guitars already ...

My question for luthiers is, it works as promotion?
In a chat with a German luthier he told me that he had done the same 2 , in different festivals, and he decided not to do anymore ... reason...

he told me that he doesn't found that the winners had been happy receiving the guitars, like , the 2 ond winner of his guitar doesn't even shake his hand and thank... i said "WHAAAATH?"

i have offered 2 guitars and, they at least thank me, at least had been polite to me, but that thing was glued to my mind... the winners really appreciate that effort , they know that being making a guitar we have lots of hours of work and money?

Your opinion?
I'm a Luthier living in Bury st Edmunds UK

simonm
Amateur luthier

Re: question for luthiers here

Post by simonm » Sat Nov 11, 2017 4:28 pm

No personal experience.

I have always assumed that guitars given as prizes were paid for by the main sponsors - it never occurred to me that the luthier would be giving them away (unless for some reason the festival was a very personal interest). My view is that in any significant festival, the financial value of the guitar is the significant point for the winner. Most players would probably prefer cash. Once a player is famous enough then attaching his/her name to a guitar probably means it will sell better to collectors.

Doug Ingram
Amateur luthier

Post by Doug Ingram » Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:10 pm