Baroque Lute Build

Discussion of all aspects of early instruments, lutes, theorbos, vihuelas, Renaissance guitars and Baroque guitars.
Ricardo Barros
Amateur luthier

Baroque Lute Build

Post by Ricardo Barros » Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:38 pm

Hello Delcampers!

I am an amateur luthier (4 classical guitars so far), and I am beginning to build a baroque lute. I am using the excellent CD and plans from mr. David Van Edwards.

I have made the mould and the neckblock, and so far so good.

download/file.php?mode=view&id=55606
download/file.php?mode=view&id=55607

Now, I have a question...Am I going to luthier's Hell if I use regular Titebond instead of Animal Glue? This lute is being made for myself, no commercial intention at all.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Sergio Abreu 2012 (sp/ir)
Ricardo Barros 2013 (cd/ir)

Michael.N.

Re: Baroque Lute Build

Post by Michael.N. » Sun Jan 29, 2017 8:00 pm

Of course it will work. Just remember that hide glue is a little easier to reverse should you ever need to. Make sure that the mould is sealed with wax, you don't want the bowl stuck to it!
Only today I cut the ribs for my version. I had a piece of cherry wood, so decided to cut it into lute ribs. I need to source some material for the mould but I hate working with MDF.
Historicalguitars.

simonm
Amateur luthier

Post by simonm » Sun Jan 29, 2017 8:24 pm

Ricardo Barros wrote: ….
Now, I have a question...Am I going to luthier's Hell if I use regular Titebond instead of Animal Glue? ,....
Absolutely!