Renaissance Lute

Discussion of all aspects of early instruments, lutes, theorbos, vihuelas, Renaissance guitars and Baroque guitars.
Moderndandy

Renaissance Lute

Postby Moderndandy » Mon May 20, 2013 3:08 am

I'm hoping someone might have some advice here. I've studied classical guitar for many years and I have always been curios about the Lute. I really love Dowland and play a few of his pieces on the guitar with the lute tuning and a capo on the 3rd fret. I'm a pretty devout amateur. My teacher can also teach lute and has warned me of the difficulties of obtaining a Decent Lute. Also, he has let me know there is a bit of a difference between a lute built like a guitar and an actual lute with gut frets and lower tension courses.
I've looked on the lute societies classified but I know nothing of what is a fair price and what is a good lute. I'm hoping maybe someone who has crossed this path before may have some advice. I feel the Renaissance music really hits my soul more than a other music. I know this will cost some Money and time. Any advice appreciated on a Luthier or someone selling a Renaissance lute.

David_Norton

Re: Renaissance Lute

Postby David_Norton » Mon May 20, 2013 12:53 pm

Go to The Bay, and search for auction item #360659807373. It's a 7-course renaissance lute, built in 1969, "Bream style". It has metal frets, and a 640mm scale. That makes a very good companion instrument for a guitarist. "True" renaissance lute players generally won't come near to anything of this design, it's considered too long and has non-moveable frets. I had one similar to this in college, 1978-80 or so, and enjoyed it very much.
David Norton
Salt Lake City, UT

Michael.N.

Postby Michael.N. » Mon May 20, 2013 1:31 pm