Baroque Lute or Renaissance Lute?

Discussion of all aspects of early instruments, lutes, theorbos, vihuelas, Renaissance guitars and Baroque guitars.
Jason

Baroque Lute or Renaissance Lute?

Postby Jason » Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:06 am

I am trying to repeat the popular topic about acquiring a lute for beginners. I have been playing classical guitar for about 10 years and now become increasingly interested in trying out lute. The Bach lute suites fantasizes me the most but I am still greedy about playing Dowland, too.

Having read over discussions, advices from luthiers and lutenists institutions, it appears to me that it would nearly be a default for beginners to start with a 6- or 7-course Renaissance lute as they would be appropriate for Dowland pieces. However, they have often remarked that there would be nothing wrong to start with a Baroque lute if the Baroque suites attracted you the most. But I do get an impression that Baroque lutes are not meant for beginners. Some even mentioned that not to think of playing Dowland pieces on a lute with 10 or more courses, and these two kinds of lutes seem to be largely "incompatible" with each other. Is it just going to be a lot easier to start with a Renaissance lute? Comments appreciated. :D

Stephen Kenyon
Teacher

Re: Baroque Lute or Renaissance Lute?

Postby Stephen Kenyon » Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:16 am

A renaissance lute is likely to be less of a culture shock, because it has fewer strings, generally, plus the tuning is closer to what you are used to. The baroque lute is typically tuned in a D minor tuning (with some variants!) and as far as I'm aware you can't play both renaissance and baroque repertoire on the same lute.