Hello from Norfolk, England.

Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
Forum rules
Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
uralsteve

Hello from Norfolk, England.

Post by uralsteve » Sat May 09, 2015 7:27 pm

Hi,

Long time guitarist recently stopped gigging with a band so decided to attempt classical guitar (again).

I am an amateur (read not very good) but take great pleasure from playing the guitar. I have also dabbled in mandolin and banjo but not classical music on those instruments.

Having abandoned the electric plectrum guitar gig I decided to try Travis picking re Chet Atkins, Jerry Reed and Richard Smith. All these guys used nylon string guitars so I started looking for a hybrid. Somehow I ended up using the Noad book to learn to read and now practice with the classical technique and have abandoned the thumb pick (I would still use it on my Gretsch but I am now worried about messing up my nails, :lol: )

I have Calm radio on most opportunity as there is a classical guitar station (although it may be repetitive in the music choices).

So a long winded post about my path to the classical guitar. It feels like starting from scratch being an ex thumb over, bass string muting thumb picker but i am happy about that and would like to maybe follow a graded learning method. Any recommendations about that?

Thanks,

Steve

Erik Zurcher

Re: Hello from Norfolk, England.

Post by Erik Zurcher » Sat May 09, 2015 9:15 pm

Hello Steve and welcome to Delcamp forum! Feel free to join discussions or start a new topic. Enjoy yourself and see you around!

To learn more about this forum and its rules, please have a look at our welcome page