Greetings from Melbourne, Australia

Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
Forum rules
Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
BarryE

Greetings from Melbourne, Australia

Post by BarryE » Fri May 22, 2015 4:06 am

My name is Barry, I am a 74 yo male, and have lived in Melbourne all my life. I started playing guitar at age 14 after hearing my uncle & Aunt playing guitar and mandolin, and took lessons for 3 or 4 years. I took over my teacher's students at age 21 when he left to take a playing position at a Gold Coast hotel, and continued to teach out of working hours for about 10 years. I had some classical lessons from Sadie Bishop (sadly now deceased), and in 1961 had the magnificent experience of meeting and shaking hands with Andre Segovia after his Melbourne Town Hall Concert in October. I was also playing electric Jazz guitar in dance bands to help support my wife and growing family (have 5 children), and also continued a successful career in insurance. I have a massive collection of jazz guitar music, and still marvel at the pure talent and inventiveness of players like Charlie Christian, Joe Pass, Wes Montgomery, Emily Remler, Barney Kessell and so many others. I have suffered from osteoarthritis in the fingers for around 10 years (inherited from my Mum!), so cannot form chords with my left hand unless I use fingers 3,4 and 5 only. Can still play reasonable single string tunes and improvisations, using Abeysold backing tracks- quite enjoyable!