Greetings form a Classical Guitar novice from India!

Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
Forum rules
Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
picatawagadoodle

Greetings form a Classical Guitar novice from India!

Post by picatawagadoodle » Mon May 25, 2015 3:30 pm

Hello.
I am a 17 year old homeschooler and I am learning Classical Guitar from a tutor.

I have been playing classical guitar ( Yamaha C70 ) since the past six months, and I am about to give the Trinity Grade 3 examination.
Prior to this I learnt the acoustic guitar up to Grade 4, playing the same for about a year.

I started learning from a Carcassi Method book, and so far I have played pieces by Carulli, Carcassi and Sor.
I have also played a few pieces by Hans Nuesidler, Caspar Sanz and Johann Kaspar Mertz.

Aside from playing, I enjoy articulating the chord progressions and cadences and the modulations from pieces that I play.
Moreover the historical context of the composers and their work fascinates me.

I have listened to a little bit of John Williams and I am familiar with some of the works of Vivaldi, Beethoven and Bach. Aside from Western Classical music, I also listen to Mark Knopfler, Ulf Wakenius, Leonard Cohen, Kings of Convenience and Mumford and Sons.

I aspire to pursue music and composition as a formal career and at this forum I hope to engage in discussions regarding music, and augment my appreciation and understanding of music written for Classical Guitar. I would love to know the historical backgrounds of different composers, and the context behind each Opus.

Regards.
Picata.

GeoffB
Chief moderator
Chief moderator

Re: Greetings form a Classical Guitar novice from India!

Post by GeoffB » Mon May 25, 2015 6:14 pm

Hello Picata,