Can anyone recommend a microphone for my camcorder?

Creating a home studio for recording the classical guitar. Equipment, software and recording techniques. Amplification for live performance.
Christopher Burnham

Can anyone recommend a microphone for my camcorder?

Postby Christopher Burnham » Fri Dec 30, 2016 8:51 am

I just got a new camcorder for Christmas, the Canon VIXIA HF R700. It has a spot to attach an external microphone (3.5mm plug). I have never used a mic before when recording, just the built in mic, but have never been happy with the sound from the built in. I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations for an inexpensive mic that I can use to improve the sound for my recordings. Thanks in advance!

Paul Janssen

Re: Can anyone recommend a microphone for my camcorder?

Postby Paul Janssen » Fri Dec 30, 2016 1:23 pm

R0DE make some good video camera microphones. You might like to check out the R0DE Stereo VideoMic Pro.

Christopher Burnham

Postby Christopher Burnham » Sat Dec 31, 2016 3:34 am

Thanks for the recommendation Paul, Ill check it out for sure!

Christopher Burnham

Postby Christopher Burnham » Sat Dec 31, 2016 3:57 am

Just looked at the RODE's on the big river site. The videomic pro is a bit out of my price range right now. I can only afford about $100 right now. I did see the videomicro compact on camera microphone with Rycote Lyre Shock Mount was going for $59.Would this be an acceptable mic for my situation? All I am wanting is to get a decent sounding videos so I can share my playing with friends and family on f-book.

el_guitarrero

Postby el_guitarrero » Sun Jan 01, 2017 2:02 am

Hello,

The best audio (mic) position is almost always not the best position for the videocam, and viceversa.... instead of attaching a mic to the mediocre audio input of your camcorder, why not look for a cheap zoom h1 or tascam dr-05? They cost both <100 USD, and you get very good stereo sound out of them.