amplification for my son's wedding

Creating a home studio for recording the classical guitar. Equipment, software and recording techniques. Amplification for live performance.
Casey

amplification for my son's wedding

Postby Casey » Wed Jan 04, 2017 2:56 am

The doll who just accepted my son's wedding proposal has asked me to play at their outdoor wedding this coming June. Beyond being flattered and thrilled and really nervous I wonder at the best setup for outdoors. I have a Cube 80 and can either line in an AY CY127CE slim line w/cutaway that has an acoustic mike in the body or try to use an instrument mike on a LoPrinzi concert guitar which is my main axe. Any thoughts at all would be most welcome as I have never done anything like this before.

Yes she wants Canon in D & I'll have to find a few more appropriate pieces also. Thanks in advance.

Whiteagle

Re: amplification for my son's wedding

Postby Whiteagle » Wed Jan 04, 2017 9:47 am

Doll?

Tom Poore

Postby Tom Poore » Wed Jan 04, 2017 12:45 pm

Guitar isn’t really an ideal instrument for outdoors. But you can make it work. And obviously the bride and groom have emotional reasons for wanting you to play. Remember that just you being an important part of the ceremony far outweighs any consideration of how well you play. You’ll do fine.

During the ceremony, place yourself and the amp as close to the audience as you can. The amp you’ll be using is barely adequate for an outdoor gig. So don’t be too far away from your listeners. Also make sure you have good sight lines for everything. You must be able to see what’s going on so you’ll know when to play.

A practical consideration: if you can, place yourself in a shaded area. You don’t want to be baking in direct sunlight, especially for a June wedding in Florida. Also, a partly cloudy day means your trebles will constantly go out of tune—staying in the shade minimizes tuning problems.