Best way you know to amplify a classical guitar.

Creating a home studio for recording the classical guitar. Equipment, software and recording techniques. Amplification for live performance.
lacatedral

Best way you know to amplify a classical guitar.

Post by lacatedral » Sat Jul 29, 2017 5:40 pm

Hi, I've wondering what's the best way to amplify a classical guitar.

First, the issue about microphones: I've seen some Youtube videos about this topic, some prefer pickup microphones
(I mean these ones, I don't know how they are called in english, here's a photo:
Image)
some others use these ones:
http://http2.mlstatic.com/microfono-de- ... 016-F.webp

Second, amplification. I have a 20 watts Peavey amplifier but it's for electric guitars, I doubt it would be suitable for a non electric guitar. I'd like to add some reverb too, the repertoire I'm studying right now is more "fingerstyle" or popular arrangements of pop songs.

Third, I was thinking in using some kind of audio interface, I have a Tascam US 144MKII over here, maybe it would be right to connect the guitar with some sort of mic to it, then use a DAW like Ableton (maybe reverb could came out of here, my amplifier doesn't even have a reverb knob). Or maybe some kind of multieffect pedal, I think they are intended for electric guitars, but an old professor of mine used an amplified classical guitar with it.

That would be all, thanks

George Crocket

Re: Best way you know to amplify a classical guitar.

Post by George Crocket » Sat Jul 29, 2017 6:35 pm

Hi lacatedral. Welcome to the forum. Please post your introduction here
George
2010 Stephen Eden spruce/cocobolo classical guitar
2012 Stephen Eden cedar/IRW classical guitar

Stephen Kenyon
Teacher

Post by Stephen Kenyon » Sat Jul 29, 2017 7:59 pm

Hi there and greetings. I suggest when you follow George's request, add a bit more detail esp about what circumstances you'd want the amplification for, how you are fixed for budget, your wider expectations etc.