Guitar Video Editing Software -- is Filmora any good?

Creating a home studio for recording the classical guitar. Equipment, software and recording techniques. Amplification for live performance.
Guitar Slim Jr.

Guitar Video Editing Software -- is Filmora any good?

Post by Guitar Slim Jr. » Fri Aug 25, 2017 9:12 pm

I'm a teacher and interested in making guitar videos -- especially educational videos. I've shot a few things at home just using an Ipod or a little digital camera, and now I am looking for software to help me edit and package what I've shot.

One of the things I want to be able to do is PIP and overlay effects: to get close-ups of the hands, show excerpts from scores and charts, etc. Pricey high-end programs like Sony Vegas are not in the frame at the moment, but I found a much more modest app that seems to do the job pretty well. It's called Wondershare Filmora, and I've spent a couple days messing with the trial version.

It's certainly easy to use. I know nothing about video editing, yet I was able to figure out how to use it -- including PIP -- in a matter of minutes, with just a few peeks at the help files. A 12-month license costs about the same as a new video game -- $40 US.

It's gotten good reviews elsewhere, I'm wondering if anyone here has used it, and what your opinion is?

Stephen Kenyon
Teacher

Re: Guitar Video Editing Software -- is Filmora any good?

Post by Stephen Kenyon » Fri Aug 25, 2017 9:29 pm

If you like what it does and find it easy, and it makes real HD, what's not to like? A while ago I was rooting around looking for cheap alternatives to the free iMovie, and looked briefly at various including I think Filmora. In the end iMovie is good enough for my present purposes (Mac only of course).
Btw what's PIP?
Simon Ambridge Series 40 (2005)
Trevor Semple Series 88 (1992)
Louis Panormo (1838)
Alexander Batov Baroque Guitar (2013)

fraim

Post by fraim » Fri Aug 25, 2017 10:35 pm

Picture in Picture

Peter Frary