Greetings from McKinney, Texas!

ekxxi

Greetings from McKinney, Texas!

Post by ekxxi » Mon Dec 05, 2016 9:55 pm

Hi everyone!

I started playing guitar when I was 14-ish (I’m now 45) and bored on my summer vacation. I found my step-brother’s forgotten cheap Harmony(?) electric guitar one day under a bed and decided to try and figure it out. I started by playing one note-at-a time and was so frustrated that it sounded nothing like what I heard on recordings. It’s funny - I had no concept of chords on the guitar back then. LOL Once I figured out that I could play two notes together, that was something! I even hammered-out a crude attempt at the Scorpions’ “Rock You Like a Hurricane” intro by ear using barred parallel 4ths – ohh, that was so-o-o cool to me! Shortly after that, a school friend who had his own guitar showed me a tiny lick he had learned with a bluesy string-bend and I was hooked. Eventually, I began to figure out real chords, some theory gleaned from choir classes, etc. all on my own (this was PRE-Internet!) and played in my high-school pop ensemble and my own garage-band. After I graduated, I enrolled as a music major studying classical guitar at my local junior college, and won an “Outstanding Music Student” award, partly for learning some pieces that were quite complicated for my level including Tárrega’s “Recuerdos de la Alhambra” and “Capricho Árabe”. Even so, my pursuit there was interrupted when a summer job in Dallas unexpectedly offered me a full-time position working with one of their computer systems. I was sick of being broke and feeling confined in my “small” town - how could I turn this down when the tech industry was just starting to explode? Surely I could work full time and do school, too, yes? Yeah, tried that… not recommended.