Hello from sunny California

Clovingo

Hello from sunny California

Postby Clovingo » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:55 pm

Hello everybody! I always wanted to join this forum. I love the sound of the classical nylon guitar. I love Spanish Romantic Classical and South American Latin Guitar Music. I consider myself a beginner/intermediate player, been playing on and off for years (self-taught), took a long break of 10 years of not playing, then saw somebody playing one day and I decided I needed to play again. Now at age 44, I really want to put more effort to learning and playing the classical guitar correctly (position, right-hand placement, planting, tremolo, etc).

To push myself to another level of playing, I hooked up with a private guitar teacher (4-months ago),who I see twice a month (expensive 1-hr session) don't know if it is worth it. He says he was a student under Celine Romero for years. He has shown me everything I've doing wrong for years(so frustrating). Originally, I wanted to just learn to read Tab only, but he insisted for me to learn to read standard notation. He had me start out with Christopher Parkening Part 1 and playing Guiliiani's 120 Right hand exercises. Good teacher, but I feel it is a slow process. Anyways, I'll stop yakking for now, I have many questions, hopefully you can answer them and provide me advice and direction.

Chris

Guitars:
Kremona FC, Cedar, 2015
Cordoba C-10, Spruce, 2016

oski79

Re: Hello from sunny California

Postby oski79 » Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:02 pm

Welcome to Delcamp, Chris!

I'm sure you'll realize soon enough that you're much better off learning to read standard notation too rather than only tab!