Hello from Massachusetts!

bester

Hello from Massachusetts!

Post by bester » Sun Jan 08, 2017 4:21 am

Hi there everyone. My name is Michael, and I've found myself ending up on this site often enough in the recent past that I thought it only right to register and introduce myself.

I am a guitarist and have been playing for over 30 years now, having started at about age 11. Back in those heady days, I was enamored with Eddie Van Halen, Steve Vai, Frank Zappa, Jimmy Page, Jimi Hendrix, David Gilmour, and may other rock guitar luminaries. Later, I went school for Jazz performance and steeped myself in the idioms of the bebop masters and the great American songbook. Throughout those early years, I dabbled with classical guitar here and there, playing some Carcassi studies and Giuliani etudes, but was not properly trained on it.

I spent a few years in my early twenties working as a professional musician, doing club dates and the like, but ultimately decided against pursing it as a career. I then spent perhaps 10 years where I was focusing on my work and not doing much musically. I'd play, sometimes with friends, to keep my skills from atrophying, but I wasn't studying or performing throughout that time.