Greetings (first post) from Bangor Northern Ireland

Stephen Anderson

Greetings (first post) from Bangor Northern Ireland

Post by Stephen Anderson » Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:40 am

Hi all

I came across this forum several times recently while researching various aspects of classical guitar and lutherie. I've read through some really interesting discussions and thought it's best if I join up and try get involved.

I'm 40 now but I started playing classical guitar in South Africa in 1996 and completed a BMus in classical guitar performance in 1999 (I therefore have experience in musical injury! :shock:) then went on to complete an MMus in intercultural music education in 2000.

Confession: I have been a bad boy - I have totally let my skills slip :desole: . I go for months sometimes without playing my guitar. Once again though I have renewed my interest and can't stop thinking about it and can't wait to get home from work and lock myself in my practice room. (yeah - no-one can see my screen right now - looks like I'm working :twisted: )

I play a Paulino Bernabe M30 (1995). I also have a custom made Mervyn Davis 10-string and an Alan Amy 6 string.

My work has this really cool scheme where everyone in the company gets a budget of up to £250 (GBP) to spend on lessons for themselves - the only criteria is that it must be something that has nothing to do with work! Last year I did platform diving. This year I'm going to use this budget to get lessons in lutherie and finally get round to building my own guitar.