Brand new from Arizona!

fivesense

Brand new from Arizona!

Post by fivesense » Thu Jan 19, 2017 4:19 am

Hello All!- thank you for letting me join this community! My name is Doug and I am a brand new aspiring guitarist.

I'm making good on a longtime promise to myself to learn guitar. After weeks of intensive (and at times excessive) research into how best to start, I purchased an acoustic guitar- I'm 3 days in with ferocious blisters on my fingers and loads of frustration.

I've always loved the sounds of classical guitar and thus I somewhat regret not starting with a classical guitar. Indeed, I may still choose to pick up a classical guitar as I think it would be equally gratifying (if not more so) and easier on my fingers too! I literally have 3 days of practice under my belt so I'm about as new as one can get. What does this community think about starting with a classical guitar, for the process of learning? My interest in classical guitar is not relegated to learning however; I really do LOVE the sound and would be especially proud to play well.

I realize acoustic and classical guitar are quite a bit different. The good news is I don't have anything to unlearn! Any general tips or advice?

Thank you again- glad to be here.

Doug

Erik Zurcher

Re: Brand new from Arizona!

Post by Erik Zurcher » Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:04 am

Hello Doug and welcome to Delcamp forum! Enjoy yourself and see you around!

To learn more about this forum and its rules, please have a look at our welcome page

You already have access to all the mp3 files and videos in our recording sections, and to all members' scores. Once you have had 2 messages approved by the moderators, you will get access to levels 1 - 3 of the Delcamp score collection, and also be able to post your own scores and recordings.