Greetings from Dublin

namlehai

Greetings from Dublin

Post by namlehai » Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:10 pm

Hello Everyone,

I'm a new member of the forum. My name is Nam from Vietnam, a 27 years old guy.
I'm now a PhD student in Computer Science in University College Dublin but I love guitar, specifically classical guitar.

I can play the melody and imitate guitar players when I was 8, but my family did not have good financial condition to support me following the artist career, so I left the guitar when I was 10, and followed my 'academic' study like other children in Vietnam.

For such a long time, I often listen to several kinds of music in general, and guitar as well, but I did not touch the guitar for at least a time. But 3 years ago, I came up with the idea of playing the guitar again after more than 14 years. I started to learn how to play classical guitar by myself with a lot of textbooks and videos from the internet, showing classical techniques. I do not have much time on working hours so I'm a self-taught, listen and play whenever I'm free.

Currently, my guitar is Antonio Picado model 45 from Spain, I bought it on e - b a y for 500 pounds. She's still beautiful with a lovely sound.

As a self-taught, first I started with some etudes from Carulli books, but I can play several pieces easily. Then I switched to fernando Sor etudes. I found Fernando Sor the most impressive to me with 20 etudes collection by Segovia. I can play etudes 1,2,3,5,6 from that.

I'm having a plan to play classical pieces by Agustin Barrios, Tarrega, and some rearrangement from the music of Bach, Beethoven (but easy versions).

The guitar players I love the most are Andres Segovia, John Williams, Alvaro Pierri, Christopher Parkening :)

Nice to know you all. Hope to learn a lot from you :)

Erik Zurcher

Re: Greetings from Dublin

Post by Erik Zurcher » Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:07 pm

Hello Nam and welcome to Delcamp forum! Enjoy yourself and see you around!