Here in America's home town, Plymouth, MA

Golfgnome

Here in America's home town, Plymouth, MA

Post by Golfgnome » Wed Mar 01, 2017 9:36 pm

This is my first post in this forum and I hope it is the start of a great adventure. I am new to Classical guitar as far as playing goes. I have been listening and attending concerts for many, many years. I used to play electric and worked in a band for 20 years. Once I quit the band I put the guitar away for a long time, big mistake! Every so many years I would get it out and try to play but the longer I waited the worse I played. Basically I stopped playing for about 25 years. I still have my last electric (Gibson 335) and I will never get rid of it. I bought an inexpensive Yamaha beginner/student classical guitar and fooled around occasionally with it. Tried some instruction books but having played with a pick all my life my right hand is dreadful! I love the sound and the versatility so I thought it was time to make a real attempt. I am taking lessons from a great guitarist and teacher. We have only had two lessons so far but I am so happy with the progress I am making. Like many of you I am sure, I am finding some of the left hand stretches diabolical. The challenges on the right hand are many but the most difficult right now is forcing myself to use the ring finger when it should be used and not loading up on the middle finger.
Anyway, that's me for now. I'm really looking forward to the exchange of information here. I may be looking to upgrade my guitar and I'm sure there is a lot of knowledge here.
Thanks for taking the time to read this!!!

Erik Zurcher

Re: Here in America's home town, Plymouth, MA

Post by Erik Zurcher » Wed Mar 01, 2017 9:45 pm

Hello Golfgnome and welcome to Delcamp forum! Enjoy yourself and see you around!

To learn more about this forum and its rules, please have a look at our welcome page